Blog 5

You’re heading to another hour and fifteen-minute college lecture. You’re wondering if it’s really worth the time, effort, and expense to achieve a college degree and if it will even help you obtain the ideal job that will finally compensate the years of dedication, sacrifices, and monetary cost of attending college. This question is a very common thought among college students, according to the University of South Florida sophomore Nick Gordon who reveals that he always gets an “unassertive feeling” about wondering if a college degree is worth completing in the long run. Gordon goes on to explain this by saying “I’m not really sure if getting a college degree is worth the time, effort and expense because I feel like it doesn’t give me much of an advantage due to the amount of competition that’s out there with other students, and people that also want the same good-paying career as me.” Many students around the world may experience this misconception since there not familiar with the importance a college degree has and the beneficial impact it can have on a person’s future.

2 thoughts on “Blog 5

  1. This thought has come crossed my mind a few times throughout my college career. For example, if you’re a graphic designer you can learn a lot of what you’d learn in school on YouTube or paid courses, getting similar tools under your belt. Some companies look past degrees if the skillset it there. 

    Like

  2. Christopher,

    Interesting topic to choose for a college class! I admit, I have always thought about the “what ifs” of not getting a degree. So many people are successful without one. Others, need it for their career. In my short time here at HCC my idea is that college isn’t just about the degree but its about the connections, and friendships you make that could perservere beyond your time at school.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started